Rough Draft Prayer: Charts

Good God,

You’re making it very hard for me to know where I rank when you insist on loving  (even liking) me wherever I land.

This is confusing and if I’m being honest, I can’t find many sources to back up your argument. So there.

Have you given any thought to a chart system? This way I could earn a gold star every time I get all my work done or donate enough to the Salvation Army or skip dessert. And once I have enough stars, I could get a big prize that I can carry around and show off to the people who don’t have it as together as I do. I will be a bright and shiny example of a faith that gets results.

Or if I’m not giving it enough of my all, you can just point to the chart and shoot me your best, “Not angry, just disappointed” glare. One of those should whip me into shape faster than you can say Mahershalalhashbaz.

As always this is just a suggestion, a way to help you organize the chaos you call “grace.” But if we do go with charts, I’d like this idea to be counted as my first star.

Amen

Leave a Reply

